top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCasper

The Coup D'etat - An Interview with a Burmese Citizen

Note that all sources in this article will be kept anonymous due to the sensitive subject matter. From 10:10AM to 11:20AM this morning, I conducted an interview with someone from Myanmar, who is living under the current military coup. I will not reveal their identity to anyone, nor how I was introduced to them, for fear of their safety. Additionally, the interview was conducted on an encrypted platform, as far from any prying eyes as possible. What's important though, is that I am able to release this interview and the first-hand accounts within it to the public. I will be representing myself as Q, standing for questioner; and the Burmese citizen as A, standing for answerer.

Q: What are your thoughts on the coup? From my understanding it’s a very recent development, yes? A: It is indeed a recent development. This morning, in fact. It’s disgusting. They’re being sore losers and trying to destroy our future. Q: I see. And how has this affected you thus far? What is it like to live under the military pseudogovernment? A: Currently, too soon to say. So far they cut our phone lines, internet and communication with the outside world. They also threatened to shoot protestors, and have arrested all the government heads. Not arrested, kidnapped. With no cause. Q: I see. You did mention in an earlier discussion that your internet may be disconnected within three hours. With all this in mind, how do you feel about the former government? A: The *current* government, as I refuse to recognize these militarist upstarts, is corrupt but was slowly inching towards progress and efficiency. They are also very popular, and much loved, being headed by the daughter of our national liberator. Q: I see. What do you think the future of your nation is? Does the government stand a chance against the junta? A: Not without foreign intervention. Our government lacks armed forces as the junta *is* the armed forces. They also have our leaders. Q: I see. I heard our government here in the United States is planning to intervene and I dearly hope that they do. Do you think that there is any real chance that foreign powers will intervene? A: I have no clue. I can honestly only hope. Q: As can I. Also, one of my journalist associates wants your opinion on any human rights violations by the Burmese government. A: Human rights violations such as? Rohingya issues? I need specific examples. Q: She says — “Yes, like the Rohingys. And use of the monarch to arrest journalists.” A: I condemn any and all human rights violations. The rohingyans are a deeper issue, as we are stronger together and cannot be divided if we are to stay strong. However, the army went about this the wrong way, being genocidal instead of diplomatic, to say the least. However, Aung San Su Kyi did not have power over the military, as the current coup shows. She should not condemn them either, as it would lead to an immediate coup. It is easy to say she was a coward when not in her position, but she was not making the decision whether to condemn or not based on her values, but for the sake of her country. She was also trying to idealistically seek closer relations and influence over the military at the time. It was not possible to comment, as this wasn’t whether someone pissed their pants or not, this was genocide questions. Q: Wow, thank you for your insightful explanation! Next, do you think the junta trying to watch our conversation right now? If the authorities somehow saw this, what would the consequences be? A: I cannot say for certain, but it would mean some punishment possibly. However, we do not know if the online protesters and critics have been punished in some way. One thing to note is that we had our own tiennen square massacre, with protesting students... protesting the military junta... getting gunned down. In 1988. Q: Thanks again! Finally, do you have any other thoughts or comments that readers of this interview should see? A: Yes. We know, rohingyan issues reluct your help towards us, but this was a coup plain and simple. Our government won in an overwhelming majority, with the junta shouting “fraud”, hiring people to fake protests and pretending there was a fraud where there was none, as the choices to vote were... “an incredibly corrupt military dictatorship with constant human rights violation” and “a trying, new government headed by a beloved daughter of the beloved liberator of Burma”. We need the world’s help. Please. Q: Thank you for your time! I wish you the best of luck and safety in this trying time. A: Thanks. I hope this helps.


I checked my phone again several hours after the interview concluded, and it does appear that the interviewee has gone offline. I can only hope that they are alright.


[UPDATE: After this article in the Grandeur Print went live, I can confirm that the journalist associate who inquired about Burmese human rights violations was Her Imperial Majesty of Cycoldia.]

143 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page